Professor, Air Quality
Professor, Environmental Technology
Department of Marine, Earth and Atmospheric Sciences
North Carolina State University
Raleigh, NC 27695-8208, USA

Phone: 919.515.7808


  • Member, EPA’s Board of Scientific Counselors Executive Committee; and the Air, Climate and Energy Subcommittee, 2017-2020
  • Member, North Carolina Science Advisory Board, 2017-present
  • Executive Committee Member, US Environmental Protection Agency‘s Board of Scientific Counselors (BOSC), 2014-2017
  • Member, EPA‘s Science Advisory Board Committee on Estimating Air Emissions from Animal Feeding Operations, 2012-2013
  • Distinguished Alumnus Award, Indian Institute Of Technology, Kanpur, India, 2010
  • White House Council on Environmental Quality‘s Conference Calls on BP Gulf Spill 2010
  • Senior National Research Council Research Associateship, 2009
  • North Carolina Award for Science, 2007
  • Director, Air and Waste Management Association, 2008-2010
  • Chair, Education Council, Air and Waste Management Association, 2008-2010
  • EPA Science Advisory Board Committee on Integrated Nitrogen, 2006-2011
  • Member‘s Representative, University Corporation for Atmospheric Research, Boulder, CO, 2006-2011
  • United States Environmental Protection Agency‘s Science Advisory Board, Environmental Engineering Committee, 2004-2010
  • Governor‘s Task Force on Hazardous Materials, 2006-2007
  • U.S. Environmental Protection Agency Science Advisory Board Environmental Engineering Committee Advisory on EPA‘s Sustainability Research Strategy and Multi-Year Plan, 2006-2007
  • Lyman A. Ripperton Award, Air & Waste Management Association, 2001
  • Selected by U.S. Secretary of Agriculture to serve on the Agricultural Air Quality Task Force, 2000-2008
  • Fellow, Air & Waste Management Association, 1999
  • Frank A. Chambers Award, Air & Waste Management Association, 1998
  • Managerial Award in recognition of Distinctive and Outstanding Accomplishments, General Electric Company, 1986
  • Noryl Division Proprietary Innovation Award, General Electric Company, 1983